University of the Philippines Diliman

The University of the Philippines Diliman (UPD) is the flagship of the University of the Philippines System. The campus has 27 degree granting units with 376 academic programs in the clusters of the Arts and Humanities, Management and Economics, Social Sciences and Law, and Science and Technology. It has a land area of 493 hectares, which houses the academic units, the residential and dormitory areas, the resource generation zones and a protected forest area, among others.

As the flagship campus of the Philippines’ national university, it is home to many critically acclaimed performing arts groups. Many successful performing artists in the contemporary art and entertainment industry began honing their crafts at UPD. The campus takes pride in the undergraduate and graduate programs focusing on the study and praxis of the performing arts and related disciplines.

To date, UPD has produced 35 of the 66 National Artists. The title of the National Artist is conferred by the President of the Republic of the Philippines to Filipino individuals in recognition of his or her significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts and letters.

Many of the UPD landmarks and public arts are creations of National Artists. In this regard, UPD has been bequeathed with a number of creative works. Some of them were donated by the artists themselves or by donors, while others were commissioned by the University.



Office for Initiatives in Culture and the Arts (OICA)

Established in 1999, OICA is under the UP Diliman (UPD) Office of the Chancellor and is tasked to formulate policies, guidelines, plans and programs on artistic and cultural activities for the UPD Campus.

The functions and responsibilities of OICA include promoting UPD as a cultural and artistic hub; collaborating with established and emerging artists and institutions within and outside UPD; developing and sustaining cultural and artistic exchanges within the UP System and with other national and international academic institutions and artistic and cultural organizations; developing relevant research materials and archives for the benefit of UPD artists and art scholars; maintaining an active database of UPD artists from inside (current community members) and outside the University (alumni); promoting UPD's dynamic and cultural development management programs; creating and implementing policies on arts and cultural development in UPD; monitoring museums and other art exhibitions in UPD; curating institutional art and cultural exhibitions; facilitating institutional and/or cultural events in UPD; and assessing and facilitating cultural grants to UPD artists.

OICA is also responsible for different institutional events in UPD. The UP Diliman Month is the most important institutional celebration that is conceptualized, produced and staged by the office. UP Diliman Month celebrates the historic transfer of UP from Padre Faura in Manila to its permanent location in Diliman, Quezon City. When the national government proclaimed February as the National Arts Month in 1991, UP Diliman Month became the University’s participation in the National Arts Month. To date, UP Diliman Month is a threefold celebration of the commemoration of the University’s transfer, the recognition of the different achievements of the University’s constituents and the University’s celebration of the National Arts Month.

In 2016, UP Diliman Month was Panahon ng Luwalhati (A Season of Grace), a celebration of the birth centenary of four national artists: Manuel Conde (Film), Lamberto Avellana (Film and Theatre), Severino Montano (Theatre) and NVM Gonzales (Literature).

In 2017, UP Diliman Month was Salaysayan: Kwentong Bayan, Kaalamang Bayan (Storytelling: Folk Narrative, Folk Knowledge), a celebration of Philippine oral narratives told from one generation to another during community ceremonies, rituals, and in everyday conversation and storytelling among a group of individuals.



Department of Speech Communication and Theatre Arts (cooperating institution)

Established in 1974, DSCTA offers a certificate course (theatre arts), two basic degree programs (speech communication and theatre arts) and two graduate degree programs (speech communication and theatre arts). The graduate program in theatre arts offers two tracks: theatre studies and theatre praxis.

DSCTA’s graduates hold key positions in broadcasting (radio and television) and in the performing arts (stage and film). Many others are successful professionals in their chosen field of endeavor. This is precisely due to the training within the degree program, which enables the student to develop both intellect and creative resources.

The student gets immersed in both the theoretical and factual aspects of human communication and the theatre, under the scholarly guidance of the DSCTA faculty and staff who are armed with irreproachable academic backgrounds, research, know-how, and in-depth experience. The DSCTA faculty, believing that a responsible communicator has to understand the complexity of mass-as-social being, inspires the student to go beyond classroom learning.

Under the DSCTA are nationally organized theater companies which have participated in international drama and theatre festivals. Dulaang UP, the cultural arm of the department, introduces the student to a worldwide dramatic repertoire and involves them in all aspects of theatre production. UP Playwrights Theatre, on the other hand, mounts full production plays written by Filipinos. Dulaang Laboratoryo stages student-directed and student-acted plays. Meanwhile, Sining Pangkabataan enhances the teaching/learning of children’s Speech and Theatre.

The DSCTA faculty uses English as the medium of instruction. However, in keeping with the University Language Policy, the faculty also uses Filipino in specific courses. The DSCTA faculty strongly believes that language is instrumental to responsible and purposive communication.